‘Anybody’, a song by Burna Boy, Afro-fusion star and ‘Iron Man’, a single by Rema, Mavin Record’s singer, have featured on Barack Obama’s favorite music of 2019.


The former US president took to his social media page on Monday to release his official 2019 playlist on Spotify.

He shared a total of 35 tracks carefully drawn across different musical genres to celebrate the end of the year.

Obama also recommended the songs on the list for those in need of some musical jams.


Among the songs featured on the list are ‘Mood 4 Eva’ by Beyonce, ‘The Fact of Love’ by Joe Henry, ‘Not’ by Big Thief and ‘Go DJ’ by Kaytranada.

‘Middle Child’ by J. Cole also made the cut alongside ‘Redesigning Women,’ a song by the Highwomen.

“From hip-hop to country to The Boss, here are my songs of the year. If you’re looking for something to keep you company on a long drive or help you turn up a workout, I hope there’s a track or two in here that does the trick,” Obama wrote on Twitter.


In August, the ex-president had included Rema’s song in his 44-songs list.


‘Iron Man’ was also named among ’50 Best Songs of 2019′ by Rolling Stones, an American-based Magazine.

The development further caps what has been an amazing year for Nigerian artists as their songs continue to attract global attention.

Below are Obama’s favourite music of 2019:

  • ‘Playing Games’ – Summer Walker.
  • ‘Not’ – Big Thief.
  • ‘Go DJ’ – Kaytrana featuring SIR.
  • ‘Juice’ – Lizzo.
  • ‘Redesigning Women’ – The Highwomen.
  • ‘Anybody’ – Burna Boy.
  • ‘Burning’ – Maggie Rogers.
  • ‘Baila Baila Baila (Remix) – Ozuna featuring Daddy Yankee, J Balvin, Farruko and Anuel AA.
  • ‘Different Kind of Love’ – Adia Victoria.
  • ‘Change’ – Mavis Staples.
  • ‘Toast’ – Koffee.
  • ‘Oblivions’ – The National.
  • ‘Binz’ – Solange.
  • ‘Seventeen’ – Sharon Van Etten.
  • ‘Middle Child’ – J. Cole.
  • ‘Jicama’ – Angelica Garcia.
  • ‘Go’ – The Black Keys.
  • ‘La Vida Es Un Carnaval ‘ – Angelique Kindjo.
  • ‘Show Me Love’ – Alicia Keys featuring Miguel.
  • ‘Joke Ting’ – Goldlink featuring Ari Pensmith.
  • ‘Old Town Road (Remix)’ – Lil Nas X featuring Billy Ray Cyrus.
  • ‘Cold/Mess’ – Prateek Kuhad.
  • ‘Suge’ – Dababy.
  • ‘Hello Sunshine’ – Bruce Springsteen.
  • ‘In My Room’ – Frank Ocean.
  • ‘Iron Man’ – Rema.
  • ‘The London’ – Young Thug featuring J. Cole and Travis Scott.
  • ‘Raleighwood Hills’ – Lesthegenius featuring Sonny Miles and Jaxson Free.
  • ‘Pure Water’ – Mustard featuring Migos.
  • ‘3 Nights’ – Dominic Fike.
  • ‘The Fact of Love’ – Joe Henry.
  • ‘Con Altura’ – Rosalia.
  • ‘I Want You Around’ – Snoh Aalegra.
  • ‘On Chill’ – Wale featuring Jermih.
  • ‘Mood 4 Eva’ – Beyonce.


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle