‘Destiny’, a track off Burna Boy’s ‘African Giant‘ album, has emerged as the only song by a Nigerian artist to feature in the inauguration playlist of Joe Biden, US president-elect, and Kamala Harris, his vice.


The swearing-in ceremony to usher in Biden and Harris as the 46th president and vice-president of the United States of America is set to hold on January 20.

In order to help supporters celebrate the upcoming inauguration, a 46-track inaugural playlist compiled by D-Nice and Issa Rae’s Raedio in partnership with the presidential inauguration committee, to fit the president-elect’s theme ‘America United’, was released on Friday.

“Are you planning your #Inauguration2021 at-home watch party? Well let us take one thing off your plate. @DJDNice and @TheRaedio came up with the perfect playlist for you to dance the night away as we ring in our new leaders,” the inaugural committee had written on Twitter.


In a statement, Tony Allen, CEO of the presidential inaugural committee, said the songs and artists selected reflect the rich diversity of America and a way to help unite the people together under the Biden-Harris administration.

“During a tumultuous year that has kept so many loved ones apart, music has been a consistent vehicle that has kept us connected. Whether you are a country soul, a jazz enthusiast, a hip-hop head, a classical sort, or just love that old-time rock ‘n’ roll, music clarifies, inspires, unites, and heals,” he said.

“Today we are excited to share President-elect Biden’s and Vice-President Elect Harris’ official inaugural playlist with the nation. These songs and artists reflect the relentless spirit and rich diversity of America. They are the score to a new chapter and will help bring people together as the Biden-Harris Administration begins its important work to unite our country.”


The playlist which is now available on all the major streaming platforms features songs from top music stars around the world.

Some of the selected songs include ‘Find Your Way Back’ by Beyonce, ‘Now Or Never’ by Kendrick Lamar, ‘Good Days’ by SZA,  ‘Let It Happen’ by Tame Impala, ‘Make It Hot’ by Major Lazer, ‘Could You Be Loved’ by Bob Marley and The Wailers, ‘Higher Love’ by Kygo and Whitney Houston, ‘Got To Give It Up’ by Marvin Gaye, and ‘Levitating’ by Dua Lipa among others.

‘Destiny’ is the 13th track off the Grammy-nominated album.

Burna Boy, whose real name is Damini Ogulu, has continued to make impressive strides in his musical career since his emergence in the industry.


Here is the full playlist below:


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle