It will be a celebration of Nigeria’s dancing talents when the ‘Battle of the Year’ hit TV screens across the country in 2022.


The dancing competition sponsored by Globacom, the multinational telecommunication company, will see contestants battle for a grand total of N84 million across seven categories.

The dancing categories are Crew Battle, Bboy, Bgirl, Locking, Popping, Krump and Afro Dance.

The show will run for 13 episodes. The first 11 parts will be clips from the auditioning stages, held in six cities across Nigeria, including Lagos, Kaduna, Benin, Port Harcourt, Enugu and Abuja. While the concluding episodes will be on the semi-final and final of the show, which is scheduled for early next year.


The judges for the show include Gidnasty (USA), Menno (Netherlands), Manuela (Germany), Nigeria’s Poco Lee, Pinky Debbie, Izzy Odigie, Big Flo, Maxbuck, Dunamis, Franc Okwara, JC Jedor, and Poxy (Cameroon).

In his welcome address, Manothra Shukla, head of marketing at Glo Nigeria, said the reality show was created as a means of youth empowerment in the country.

“The show will undoubtedly keep the viewers glued to their screens and on the edges of their seats,” he said.


“The initiative is created to promote the Nigerian entertainment industry and youth empowerment and development across the country.”

Shola Mogaji, senior manager, event and sponsorship at Glo Nigeria, added that the show is intended to promote homegrown talents while “reenergizing Nigeria” after the effect of the pandemic.

“It’s reenergizing Nigeria in this COVID world because we know the typical Nigerian zest when it comes to initiatives like this. It’s a homegrown reality show that’s indeed promoting homegrown talents,” he added.

He also said that the winners of some categories in the competition would represent Nigeria at the global ‘Battle of the Year’ showdown billed for Japan later next year.


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle