Google, the search giant, is set to permanently delete accounts that have not been used within a specified period.
In a recent blog post, Google said it deems an account inactive if the user has not logged in or done any activity in two years
The tech giant considers actions like signing in; reading or sending an email; using Google Drive; watching a YouTube video; sharing photos; downloading an app; and searching while signed in to be activities.
The company added that starting December 1, accounts in the aforementioned category will be deleted.
The policy only applies to personal accounts, not those tied to an employer, school, or other organisation.
“Google products reserve the right to delete your data when your account has not been used within that product for a 2-year period,” the post reads.
“December 1, 2023 is the earliest a Google Account will be deleted due to this policy.”
It is understood that there are other exceptions to this; such as if your account was used to purchase something in the Google Play store or if your account has a gift card with an active balance.
Google said it would inform users in advance by sending emails to the accounts of affected users as well as any available recovery email addresses.
Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.
Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle