Femi Gbajabiamila, speaker of the house of representatives and Seyi Makinde are among those to be conferred with honorary doctorate degrees on Friday at the 10th convocation of Joseph Ayo Babalola University (JABU), Ikeji-Arakeji, Ondo state.


Others in the list include Gboyega Oyetola, governor of Osun; Mudashiru Obasa, speaker of the Lagos state house of assembly; Victoria Samson, managing director of Bovas Company Ltd; and Emmanuel Awode, chairman of Chemstar Group of Companies.

Kola Sonaike, vice-chancellor of the institution, who disclosed this at a pre-convocation conference, said “the recipients have actively engaged themselves in the pursuit of service for the global community and humanity.”

He also said 500 students of the university would receive their first degree certificate at the event.


Giving further breakdown, the vice chancellor said 19 students out of those graduating made first class honours while 175 students had second class honours (upper class).

He added that 225 of them had second class (lower class) while the remaining 82 came out with third class.

According to him, Joseph Temitope, the best graduating student in the university, had a CGPA of 4.80.


Sonaike said 27 other students of the institution would be awarded postgraduate certificates while seven will have postgraduate diploma certificates.

He further stated another 20 will get masters degree certificates at the forthcoming event.

In an earlier news conference on Monday, the vice-chancellor had reiterated the institution’s drive to addressing the nation’s problems, by producing qualified graduates empowered with requisite skills and knowledge.


Copyright 2022 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle