‘African Giant,’ an album by Damini Ogulu, Nigeria’s Afrofusion singer better known as Burna Boy, has been nominated for the 2020 BRIT Awards — sometimes referred to as the British version of the Grammys.


The award ceremony is expected to hold on February 18.

Burna Boy was nominated for the ‘International Male’ category alongside Bruce Springsteen, Dermot Kennedy, Post Malone and Tyler, the Creator.

Other categories of the award include ‘Mastercard Album of the Year,’ ‘Song of the Year,’ ‘Best New Artist,’ ‘Male Solo Artist,’ ‘Female Solo Artist,’ ‘Best Group,’ ‘International Female,’ and ‘Rising Star.’

The nomination further stretches what has been an impressive run for the 19-track project released by the award-winning singer last year.

The album has garnered several nominations, awards, honorary mentions and huge international presence, one of which was a nomination for the 2020 Grammys’ ‘Best International Album’ category — slated for January 26, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

The talented singer seemed poised for another amazing ride in the new year, with a deluge of activities coming his way.


The ‘Ye’ crooner recently announced his ‘The African Giant Returns Tour’ — which would see him travel across four cities in Europe.

Here are the nominees below:

Mastercard Album of the Year

Dave – Psychodrama


Harry Styles – Fine Line

Lewis Capaldi – Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent

Michael Kiwanuka – Kiwanuka

Stormzy – Heavy is the Head

Song of the Year

AJ Tracey – “Ladbroke Grove”

Calvin Harris & Rag’N’Bone Man – “Giant”

Dave – “Location (ft. Burna Boy)”

Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber – “I Don’t Care”

Lewis Capaldi – “Someone You Loved”

Mabel – “Don’t Call Me Up”

Mark Ronson – “Nothing Breaks Like a Heart (ft. Miley Cyrus)”

Sam Smith & Normani – “Dancing With a Stranger)”

Stormzy – “Vossi Bop”

Tom Walker – “Just You and I”

Best New Artist



Lewis Capaldi


Sam Fender

Male Solo Artist


Harry Styles

Lewis Capaldi

Michael Kiwanuka


Female Solo Artist

Charli XCX

FKA Twigs

Freya Ridings



Best Group


Bring Me The Horizon


D-Block Europe


International Female

Ariana Grande

Billie Eilish

Camila Cabello

Lana Del Rey


International Male

Bruce Springsteen

Burna Boy

Dermot Kennedy

Post Malone

Tyler, the Creator

Rising Star


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle