WhatsApp has launched three new features — one of which allows users to exit groups secretly. 

Advertisement

The Facebook-owned company broke the news in a Twitter thread on Tuesday.

WhatsApp said with the new feature, only admins would be notified when a member leaves a group.

According to the company, the two other features will allow users to choose who can see them when they are online and block screenshots of view-once messages.

Advertisement

It disclosed that the two features would be officially unveiled in due course.

The company said the new features are part of its ongoing efforts to give users more control and privacy over their messages.

“Your privacy deserves more protection. That’s why we’re excited to announce three layers of security to wrap your messages in,” it wrote.

Advertisement

“When you want to make the subtle exit, starting this month, you can leave groups silently. From now on, only admins will be notified when you leave a group.

“Rolling out soon will be a feature, online presence, that lets you decide who can see when you’re online.

“Another feature we’ll be launching soon is built-in screenshot blocking for your view once photos and videos.”

The platform has been in the news on several occasions over conditions attached to some of its privacy policies.

Advertisement

Last year, WhatsApp attracted widespread backlash after it announced that its two billion users must either accept its updated terms and conditions or stop using its application.

In the wake of the criticism, the company launched its first global advertising campaign to address concerns raised by its users.



Copyright 2022 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle