The national universities commission (NUC) has approved 14 courses at the Technical University in Ibadan, Oyo State.


The approved programmes would be run in two faculties and seven departments in the varsity, according to a statement issued by the Media Office.

The two approved faculties are faculties of natural sciences and engineering and technology while the approved courses with full accreditation are microbiology, industrial chemistry, physics with electronics, software engineering, computer science, cyber security, mathematics and statistics.

Others are agricultural engineering, biomedical engineering, food science and technology, electrical and electronic engineering, mechanical engineering as well as petroleum engineering.


The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Ayobami Salami, acknowledged the approval saying this would promote the human society as a whole.

Salami said students would undertake two vocational trainings as well as French language as a criteria for graduation.

He said: “As a technical university, we have an abiding obligation to efficiently and responsibly use theoretical and practical knowledge of science, technology and engineering in engaging societal problems while maintaining a culture of entrepreneurship anchored on quality programmes that are responsive and financially suitable and sustainable.


“It is in that connection that we provide entrepreneurial and vocational training to students.”

Students would also be made to learn another Nigerian language, besides their mother tongue.

Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle