The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) has invited the Nollywood filmmakers Funke Akindele and Blessing Egbe to join the 2022 membership of Oscar organisers.


Also invited is Daniel K. Daniel, the Nigerian film and TV actor.

AMPAS extended invitations to 397 distinguished artistes and executives to join the organisation.

In a lengthy statement listing the invitees, AMPAS said the selected persons include actors, casting directors, cinematographers, costume designers, directors, film editors, make artistes, hair stylists, and music executives.


They also include product designers, sound engineers, writers, and visual effects professionals.

It said the selection is based on professional qualifications, with a commitment to representation, inclusion, and equity.

AMPAS said this year’s class of invitees encompasses 71 Oscar nominees, including 15 winners.


Also selected are the likes of Reed Birney, Gaby Hoffman, Jamie Dornan, Vincent Lindon, Troy Kotsur, Selton Mello, Joanna Scanlan, Marco Rodriguez, Ariana DeBose, and Jessie Buckley.

The invitees will be allowed voting privileges at the upcoming Oscars if they accept the invites.

AMPAS admitted Ramsey Nouah, Mo Abudu, and the US-based director Andrew Dosummu into the class of 2021.

In 2018, Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde, Wunmi Mosaku, Femi Odugbemi, and Ngozi Onwurah were extended an invite.


They were also among the artists who determined winners of the Oscar in 2019.

Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle