The University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) in Kwara state has expelled at least five students for offences including exam malpractice and hostel bed space racketeering.


The institution, in a bulletin publication, said it either expelled or rusticated 19 students.

Among the affected undergraduates are six final-year students alleged to have been involved in various offences.

Others were undergraduates at 100, 200, 300, and 400 levels.


The institution said Wahab Egbewole, its vice-chancellor, approved the sanction following recommendations by UNILORIN’s disciplinary committee.

UNILORIN said the affected students were penalised for offences ranging from misconduct, theft, exam malpractices, hostel bed-space racketeering, physical assault of fellow students, and admission racketeering.

Five were expelled for alleged examination malpractice and theft while 14 others were rusticated for either one semester or a session.


The expelled students were found guilty of being involved in alleged examination malpractices, theft, hostel bed space racketeering, admission racketeering, and extortion.

Among the expelled students are Amatokwu Evans of the Department of Art Education, Nwachukwu Chinedu Joshua, Department of Biochemistry, Oshinboluro Temitope Joshua of the Mathematics Department and Sulaimon Mayowa of Biochemistry.

Also included is Okanle Oluwatimileyin Samuel of the Physiotherapy Department.

Among those rusticated are Adebayo Adeleke of Performing Arts, Hassan Hanan Adebola of History and International Studies, Ayodele Samuel Koseunti of History and International Studies, and Toki Opeyemi Ayomide of History and International Studies.


Others are Makinde Usman Ayomide of Linguistic and Nigeria Languages and Onibiyo Eniola Gideon of History and International Studies.

Included are Badmus Rasheedat Ajoke from Chemistry, Afolayan Damilola of Mathematics, Ajibola Oluwaseyi Temiloluwa from Engineering & Tech, Akorede Isiaka Nifemi of Mathematics, Bolanta Taiye Zainab of Industrial Relations & Personnel Management.

Also rusticated are Elegede Favour Emmanuel of Physiology, Ojelabi Ibukunoluwa Micheal of Anatomy, and Okeke Ruth Chinecherem of Performing Arts.


Copyright 2024 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle