Abialam, a new album by Kabaka and his Oriental International Brothers, has debuted on the Apple Music Top 100 chart worldwide.


The album peaked at the 50th position less than 24 hours after its release on Friday. It further moved up to the 27th position as of Monday morning.

The feat, it is believed, makes ‘Abialam’ the first highlife music album from Africa to ever reach the milestone.


The 6-track body of work was released on September 15 by Godwin ‘Kabaka’ Opara, the ace Nigerian highlife singer, after a 17-year absence from the music scene.

Kabaka, 77, is the leader of the famous Oriental Brothers music band formed in the 70s.

“It’s an honor to represent highlife music on a global stage and make history with this album,” said the ace singer.


‘Abialam,’ which translates to “I have returned,” is an intricate tapestry of traditional rhythms and modern beats, capturing the essence of highlife music while resonating with a broad international audience.

The album pays homage to the highlife genre’s rich history, while also incorporating contemporary elements that make it accessible and relevant to today’s music scene.

“We are beyond thrilled to see this level of engagement and support from our fans around the world,” said Anyanwu Glory Ammarachi, COO of Derda Promotions.

Kabaka and His Oriental International Brothers are also set to announce their world tour dates.


Kabaka's new album ‘Abialam’ sets Apple Music record

The original Oriental Brothers were formed by Kabaka with Dan Satch Emeka Opara, Sir Warrior, Nathaniel ‘Mangala’ Ejiogu, Hybrilious ‘Akwilla’ Alaraibe, and Prince Ichita.

The group first split in 1977 when Dan Satch Opara and Prince Ichita left to start their bands under the Oriental Brothers moniker.

Opara’s group put out six albums between 1977 and 1984, while Ichita’s band recorded two projects before he died in the early ’80s.


The three Opara brothers then reunited to record two albums: ‘Anyi Abiala Ozo’ in 1987 and ‘Oriental Ge Ebi’ in 1996.

Kabaka last put out a music project in 2006.

Some of his albums include ‘Uwa Atualamujo/Ihe Chinyere,’ ‘Ihe Oma,’ ‘Ischim Nyara Gi,’ ‘Five Fingers,’ ‘Oriental Special,’ ‘Osa Enwe Akwu,’ ‘Onyaoma Nmadu Eji Egbuya,’ ‘Anam Ele Chi,’ ‘Hallelujah,’ and ‘Madu Bu Aja’.


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle