Google is set to introduce a new feature, ‘auto-delete’, that allows users automatically delete location and search history to ensure more data control.

With the ‘auto-delete’ control, users will be able to automatically delete personal data scooped by the search engine after three or 18 months.

In a statement issued on Wednesday on its official website, the search giant said the new feature is a response to users demands for data privacy, security and control on its platform.

“We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it…we’re announcing auto-delete controls that make it even easier to manage your data,” Google said.

Currently, users have access to manually manage their personal data while using products like YouTube, Maps and Search, but the new features will come with an automatic option.

However, the tech giant noted that the feature will be rolled out in the “coming weeks” only for data gathered from location history, web and app activities.

“These controls are coming first to Location History and Web & App Activity and will roll out in the coming weeks. You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you–and we’re committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen,” it added.

The search giant has recently been criticised for flouting privacy laws by forcing users to use its location tracking system.

However, Google responded that users have the choice to disable and enable its location-tracking features at their will.



Copyright 2019 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle