The Society of Nigerian Artists (SNA) has announced the date for its 2023 annual conference on art and development (CONADEV).


SNA is an organisation for all professional visual artists, art groups, and associations in Nigeria.

The society was founded in 1963 by Aina Onabolu, Ben Enwonwu, Uche Okeke, and Bruce Onobrakpeya, among others.

In a statement, the organisers also announced that this year’s event will feature an art exhibition and awards night, where Onobrkapeya will be honoured with the ‘Lord of the Arts’ accolade.


Some of the personalities to be presented with awards include Ireti Kingibe, the lawmaker; Akachi Adimora Ezeigbo, (distinguished patronship award); Nyaudo Ndaeyo, John Asein, Abiodun Oluwole Olutayo, Oji Onoko (honorary fellowship award); and Abba I. Tijani.

Others are Sunday Enessi Ododo, Simon Ikpakronyi (distinguished service award); Ocheche Agbo, Sunkanthy Egharevba, and Tijani Iyabo Khadijah (fellowship award), among others.

Other activities include the annual general meeting of the national and state chapter executives and conference, paper presentations and plenary sessions.


Tagged ‘Refocusing the Art, Through Theory and Practice Towards Nation Building’, the event is scheduled to begin on November 7 to 9, at the Exhibition Pavilion, Garki, Abuja.

Muhammad Sulaiman, the SNA president, said the theme of the conference underscores the need for a paradigm shift in the theory and practice of visual arts in Nigeria and to key into national development.

He described the awardees as “worthy Nigerians who have contributed meaningfully to the growth and development of visual arts in Nigeria”.

Also speaking, Akeni Prosper, SNA’s secretary general, said the society was formed to “strategically promote professionalism positioning Nigerian visual arts and artists for local and international recognition”.


“It is the umbrella body for all Nigerian professional visual artists, art groups, and associations in Nigeria,” he said.

“SNA’s endorsement of an artist qualifies him or her for artistic professionalism at some public level, and outright recognition and promotion in the academia.”

Full list of awardees and categories:


  • Ladidi Ibrahim Garko
  • Ahmed Abba Yusuf
  • Jeff Ajueshi
  • Mishak Nnanta
  • Ezinne Evelyn Iheoma Osuagwu
  • Ngozi Nwangwa
  • Ibrahim Abdullahi Haruna


  • Uche Ohia
  • Ogbuewu Ifanyi Stanley
  • Ezeonu Paul Olisaemeka
  • Ireti Kingibe
  • Arthur Harris-Eze
  • Don Onyenyi
  • Philomena Okoye
  • Oby Lilian Oragbu
  • Okwy Ogbuefi
  • Ngozi Anyankora
  • Amadi Theophilus Chukwuemeka
  • Izuchukwu Nwosu


  • Orisun Art Gallery, Abuja
  • Discovery Museum
  • Stella Idiong Art Gallery, University of Uyo
  • Gemini Art Gallery, Lagos


  • Ikenna Aghanya
  • Omosigho Osayemen Vivien
  • Ikwuegbu Francis Nnamdi
  • Ngumah Hyacinth Chidozie
  • John Kelechi Okpara
  • Okoye Ogochukwu Violet
  • Etido EffiongWilliam Inyang
  • Timipre Willis Amah
  • Aderinkomi John Adeleye
  • Emembo Chike Ositadimma
  • Jeremiah Unimke
  • Farrukh Mubushara
  • Gerald Chukwuma
  • Florence Onochie
  • Hamsatu Sale
  • Osamudiamen Ogunbor Ikpowonmsa
  • Dr.Samuel Akprara
  • Odun Orimola
  • Dotun Popoola
  • Animu Oboirien
  • Omoligho Omoye Udenta
  • Andrew Akinbodewa
  • Israel Eadyson Benamaisia
  • Akinlawon Alaba Soremekun
  • Ayoola Oluwaseun Omovo
  • Balogun M. Adeola
  • Saheed Adelakun


Copyright 2024 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle