The longlist of the 2017 edition of the Nigeria Prize for Literature features eleven authors who will vie for the annual honour.


This was made known in a statement released by Kudo Eresia-Eke, general manager, external relations, Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas Company Limited (NLNG).

The longlisted authors and their works include Obari Gomba (For Every Homeland), Jumoke Verissimo (The Birth of Illusion), Ogaga Ifowodo (A Good Mourning), Ebi Yeibo (Of Waters and the Wild), Peter Akinlabi (Iconography), Humphrey Ogu (Echoes of Neglect) and Tanure Ojaide (Songs of Myself: Quartet).

Others are Seun Lari-Williams (Garri for Breakfast), Ikeogu Oke (The Heresiad), Peter Akinlabi (Iconography), Hyginus Ekwuazi (One Day I’ll Dare to Raise My Middle Finger at the Stork and the Reaper), Abubakar Othman (Blood Streams in the Desert) and Jumoke Verissimo (The Birth of Illusion).


Ernest Emenyonu, a professor at the University of Michigan, US, will chair the panel of judges. Other members of the panel are Razinat Mohammed, associate professor of literature at the University of Maiduguri, and Tade Ipadeola, poet, lawyer and winner of the Nigeria Prize for Literature, 2013.

A final shortlist of three authors will be announced in September.

The 2017 prize is for poetry and the eventual winner will be presented a cash award of $100, 000.


Twelve writers have won the Nigeria Prize for Literature since its inception in 2004.

Copyright 2024 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle