Will Smith, the Hollywood star, has won the ‘Best Actor’ category at the 2022 Oscars for his role in ‘King Richard’.


The 94th Academy Awards returned to the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood and had a host for the first time in four years — with Amy Schumer, Regina Hall, and Wanda Sykes co-hosting the event.

‘CODA’, the English-language remake of the 2014 French film La Famille Bélier, won all three awards it was nominated for.

This includes the ‘Best Picture’ category and a historic win for Troy Kotsur, who won for ‘Best Supporting Actor’ — becoming the first deaf man to win an Academy Award for acting.


Jane Campion won the ‘Best Director’ category for her role in ‘The Power of the Dog’ while Jessica Chastain secured her first Oscar for her performance in ‘The Eyes of Tammy Faye’.

Will Smith received his award shortly after delivering a shocking slap to Chris Rock who made a joke about Jada Pinkett, his wife, while presenting a different award.

See the full list below:


Best supporting actress

  • Jessie Buckley (The Lost Daughter)
  • Ariana DeBose (West Side Story) – WINNER!
  • Judi Dench (Belfast)
  • Kirsten Dunst (The Power of the Dog)
  • Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Best costume design

  • Cruella – WINNER!
  • Cyrano
  • Dune
  • Nightmare Alley
  • West Side Story

Best sound

  • Belfast
  • Dune – WINNER!
  • No Time to Die
  • The Power of the Dog
  • West Side Story

Best original score

  • Don’t Look Up
  • Dune – WINNER!
  • Encanto
  • Parallel Mothers
  • The Power of the Dog

Best adapted screenplay

  • Coda (Sian Heder) – WINNER!
  • Drive My Car (Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe)
  • Dune (Eric Roth, Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve)
  • The Lost Daughter (Maggie Gyllenhaal)
  • The Power of the Dog (Jane Campion)

Best original screenplay

  • Belfast (Kenneth Branagh) – WINNER!
  • Don’t Look Up (Adam McKay, David Sirota)
  • Licorice Pizza (Paul Thomas Anderson)
  • King Richard (Zach Baylin)
  • The Worst Person in the World (Eskil Vogt, Joachim Trier)

Best animated short

  • Affairs of the Art
  • Bestia
  • Boxballet
  • Robin Robin
  • The Windshield Wiper – WINNER!

Best live-action short

  • Ala Kachuu – Take and Run
  • The Dress
  • The Long Goodbye – WINNER!
  • On My Mind
  • Please Hold

Best supporting actor

  • Ciarán Hinds (Belfast)
  • Troy Kotsur (Coda) – WINNER!
  • Jesse Plemons (The Power of the Dog)
  • JK Simmons (Being the Ricardos)
  • Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power of the Dog)

Best film editing

  • Don’t Look Up
  • Dune – WINNER!
  • King Richard
  • The Power of the Dog
  • tick, tick… BOOM!

Best makeup & hairstyling

  • Coming 2 America
  • Cruella
  • Dune
  • The Eyes of Tammy Faye – WINNER!
  • House of Gucci

Best animated feature

  • Encanto – WINNER!
  • Flee
  • Luca
  • The Mitchells Vs the Machines
  • Raya and the Last Dragon

Best documentary feature

  • Ascension
  • Attica
  • Flee
  • Summer of Soul – WINNER!
  • Writing With Fire

Best documentary short

  • Audible
  • Lead Me Home
  • The Queen of Basketball – WINNER!
  • Three Songs for Benazir
  • When We Were Bullies

Best original song

  • Be Alive (King Richard)
  • Dos Oruguitas (Encanto)
  • Down to Joy (Belfast)
  • No Time to Die (No Time to Die) – WINNER!
  • Somehow You Do (Four Good Days)

Best cinematography

  • Dune – WINNER!
  • Nightmare Alley
  • The Power of the Dog
  • The Tragedy of Macbeth
  • West Side Story

Best international feature

  • Drive My Car – WINNER!
  • Flee
  • The Hand of God
  • Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom
  • The Worst Person in the World

Best production design

  • Dune – WINNER!
  • Nightmare Alley
  • The Power of the Dog
  • The Tragedy of Macbeth
  • West Side Story

Best visual effects

  • Dune – WINNER!
  • Free Guy
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • No Time to Die
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home

Best actress

  • Jessica Chastain (The Eyes of Tammy Faye) – WINNER!
  • Olivia Colman (The Lost Daughter)
  • Penélope Cruz (Parallel Mothers)
  • Nicole Kidman (Being the Ricardos)
  • Kristen Stewart (Spencer)

Best actor

  • Javier Bardem (Being the Ricardos)
  • Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power of the Dog)
  • Andrew Garfield (tick, tick … BOOM!)
  • Will Smith (King Richard) – WINNER!
  • Denzel Washington (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Best director

  • Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)
  • Drive My Car (Ryûsuke Hamaguchi)
  • Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice Pizza)
  • Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog) – WINNER!
  • Steven Spielberg (West Side Story)

Best picture

  • Belfast
  • Coda – WINNER!
  • Don’t Look Up
  • Drive My Car
  • Dune
  • King Richard
  • Licorice Pizza
  • Nightmare Alley
  • The Power of the Dog
  • West Side Story

Copyright 2024 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle