The University of Ilorin (UNILORIN) has announced the promotion of 40 of its senior academic staff to the rank of professor.


According to the university’s bulletin issued on Monday, the elevation was approved by Tahir Mamman, the minister of education.

The publication stated that the 40 distinguished scholars were found to have excelled in the realms of teaching, research and community service, and subsequently promoted to the highest rank obtainable in the academia.

The breakdown of the beneficiaries of the promotion exercise shows that 11 of the new professors are from the Faculty of Agriculture.


The bulletin disclosed that two lecturers from the Faculty of Clinical Sciences were also elevated to the rank of professor, while the Faculty of Communication & Information Sciences also produced two new professors.

It added that the Faculty of Law produced one new Professor, while the Faculty of Life Sciences produced four new professors, among others.

See the list below:


Faculty of Agriculture:

  1. Sidiqat A. Aderinoye-Abdulwahab
  2. L. L. Adefalu
  3. F. O. Takim
  4. A. A. Badmos
  5. Foluke E. Sola-Ojo
  6. W. A. Jimoh
  7. M. I. Abubakar
  8. T. H. Aliyu
  9. R. O. Uddin II
  10. T. O. Amusa
  11. Mutiat  A. Balogun

Faculty of Arts:

  1. K. M. U. Gbodofu
  2. Y. A. Abdullahi
  3. Abosede R. O. Babatunde
  4. Bolanle E. Arokoyo
  5. P. U. Nwosu

Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences:

  1. A. S. Alabi who teaches at the Department of Anatomy.

Faculty of Clinical Sciences:

  1. T. O. Olanrewaju
  2. O.  A. M.  Adesiyun.

Faculty of Communication & Information Science:

  1. Tinuke O. Oladele
  2. Saudat S. Abdulbaqi

Faculty of Education:

  1. O. O. Okoji
  2. Folakemi O. Adeniyi-Egbeola
  3. Florence O. Daramola

From the Faculty of Engineering and Technology:

  1. A. T. Ajiboye
  2. A. Y. Abdulrahman
  3. M. O. Sumonu
  4. Rasheedat M. Mahamood
  5. T. K.  Ajiboye

Faculty of Law:

  1. A. C. Onuora-Oguno

Copyright 2024 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle