Nigerian artistes had a decent outing at the 2016 MTV Africa Music Awards, which held in Johannesburg, South Africa.


Ayo ‘Wizkid’ Balogun, Afro-pop singer, was the star of the night winning in three categories.

Wizkid won ‘best male’ and overall ‘best artiste’ award while he also shared the ‘best collaboration’ win with Dj Maphorsia and Dj Buckz.

Patoranking, Tekno and Yemi Alade were other Nigerian artistes who excelled on the night.


Here’s the full list of winners.

Best Live Act – Casper Nyovest

Best Group – Sauti Sol


Best Alternative/Pop Group – Shekinah & Kyle Deutsch

Best Female Act – Yemi Alade

Best International Artiste – Drake

Listener’s Choice award – Jay Prayzah


Legend Award – Hugh Masekela

Best Lusophone Act – C4 Pedro

Best Francophone Act – Serge Beynaud

Best Male Artiste – Wizkid


Best Collaboration – DJ Maphorisa ft Wizkid

Best Video – Youssoupha

Personality of The Year – Caster Semenya

Best Hip Hop – Emtee


Best Breakthrough Act – Tekno

Song Of The Year – Patoranking ft Wande Coal ‘My woman My everything’-Winner.

African Artiste of The Year – Wizkid

Copyright 2022 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle