Apart from Burna Boy’s big win at the Soundcity MVP awards, the likes of Teni The Entertainer, Mr Eazi and the Wizkid-led Starboy crew shone in important categories.


By clinching the best new artiste award, Teni The Entertainer appears set to dominate the category at subsequent award shows.

The recent university graduate beat a strong field comprising Peruzzi, Odunsi The Engine, King Promise, Kwesi Arthur, Kida Kudz, Shane Eagle, Sho Madjozi and Mbosso.

She managed to edge Peruzzi of Davido Music Worldwide (DMW) who was featured on a number of collaborative hit singles. His solo efforts did not enjoy as much success as the songs on which he was featured.


Teni — who is also a contender for the Headies next rated category — had a slew of solo hits in 2018, including ‘Askamaya’ and ‘Case’.

While 2018 was a revelatory year for Teni, music industry analysts expect her to become more of a force in 2019.

Mr Eazi made a bunch of power moves in 2018
Mr Eazi made a bunch of power moves in 2018

Mr Eazi, who also had a stellar 2018, was recognised as the best digital artiste.


The Banku music champion had a busy year, during which he released a tight mixtape, inched closer to perfecting his sound, broadened his brand, audience and fan base.

The singer’s collaboration with YouTube, spotlight on Apple and impressive streams on Spotify helped to earn him the best digital artiste accolade.

He beat several heavier-weights who also have strong digital presence and following, such as Davido, Tiwa Savage, Burna Boy, Falz, Wizkid, Yemi Alade, Diamond Platnumz, Vanessa Mdee and Cassper Nyovest.

Acording to MTV Base, ‘Soco’ was the hottest Nigerian song of 2018

‘Soco’, the massive team effort by the Starboy crew — Wizkid, Terri, Spotless and Ceeza — won the Soundcity MVP awards collaboration of the year, despite losing song of the year category to Burna Boy’s ‘Ye’.


The hit song which stayed on music and video charts all-year long beat popular tunes like ‘Issa Goal’, ‘Amaka’, ‘Fake Love’, ‘Makhe’ and ‘Club Controller’.

Hosted by VJ Adams, Pearl and Moet Abebe, the Soundcity MVP awards featured performances from Patoranking, Victor AD, Idowest, Slimcase, Ms Kizz, Chinko Ekun, Naira Marley, Kida Kudz, Skibbi, and Mystro.

Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle