The top five finalists for the Quramo Writers’ Prize 2018 have been unveiled.


The annual prize is awarded to an unpublished fiction manuscript. In 2017, Samuel Monye emerged the winner for his manuscript, Give Us Each Day.

The top entries for the 2018 prize are Achalugo Ezekobe, Boys on Jumping Trousers; Ani Obiamaka Splendour, The Girl Who Saw Tomorrow; Chioma Mildred Okonkwo, All That Glitters; Emmanuel Michael, Running Waters and Oriasotie Emmanuel Ehimare, When Yesterday Saved Tomorrow.

Gbemi Shasore, executive publisher of Quramo Publishing, said: “We are very thankful to our judges, led by the amazing Aduke Gomez, for their painstaking work in picking our Top 5 entries.


“We look forward to crowning a winner on Sunday October 21 and to publicly presenting Give Us Each Day, the debut novel from Samuel Monye (QWP 2017 winner).”

Kunle Kasumu, Edify Yakusak, Ego Boyo and Kayode Kofoworola are other members of the jury.

The winner of the 2018 edition will be announced at the award ceremony scheduled for Sunday, October 21.


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle