Christopher Wallace, American rapper better known as The Notorious B.I.G; and Whitney Houston, US gospel singer, have been named among those to be inducted into the 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.


Also in the 35th annual class of inductees are Depeche Mode, The Doobie Brothers, Nine Inch Nails, and T-Rex, according to the list released on Wednesday.

“Congratulations to your @KlipschAudio #RockHall2020 Inductees. Performers: @depechemode, @thedoobiebros, #WhitneyHouston, @nineinchnails, #TheNotoriousBIG and #TRex & Ahmet Ertegun awards #JonLandau and @IrvingAzoff,” read the post on Twitter.

Artists who were nominated but not inducted this year are Pat Benatar, Judas Priest, Kraftwerk, Dave Matthews Band, MC5, Motorhead, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan, Todd Rundgren, Soundgarden and Thin Lizzy.


The event, billed for May 2, will take place at the public auditorium in Cleveland, Ohio, US, where the rock museum is located.

It is also expected to be televised live for the first time in history.

Biggie, considered the greatest rapper of all times by many, is the latest rapper to be inducted into the hall –with Tupac Shakur making the cut in 2017.

Other previous honorees of the Hall of Fame include: N.W.A (2016), Public Enemy (2013), The Beastie Boys (2012), Run-DMC (2009) and Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five (2007).


TheCable Lifestyle had reported how Wallace was nominated for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in October 2019, more than twenty-two years after his death.

Copyright 2022 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle