A coalition of different Nollywood groups have tackled the federal government over non-inclusion in its committee to examine impact of COVID-19 on the creative industry.


Lai Mohammed, minister for information and culture, had on Wednesday announced the committee, which has Ali Baba, a veteran comedian, as its chairman.

But reacting to the development in a statement jointly signed on Thursday, the coalition — made of about 18 guilds and associations — said it was unfortunate that the government would take such action without considering the leadership structure of the industry.

“It is an incontrovertible fact that, the Nigerian creative industry with over 20 guilds, employs about 2.5million Nigerian youths; and is recognised globally as the fastest growing creative industry,” the statement read.


“With the second largest movie production industry in the world, it is an industry worth over US$2Billion with a contribution of 2.3% to the nation’s GDP.

“It is also a known fact that these 2.5M Nigerians belong to associations and organisations generally referred to as guilds, whom they have willingly through legitimate elections handed over the incumbency of their mandates; saying in essence speak and act on our behalf on matters affecting our interests, welfare and wellbeing!

“It is then inherent and indeed compelling that any discussion concerning the welfare of the industry should as a matter of equity and transparency involve the participation of those guild heads.”


The coalition also urged the minister to reconstitute the committee to reflect the industry’s leadership representatives and not only “hand-picking a few practitioners no matter how prominent they may be.”

It added: “If guilds like the Nigerian Bar Association, Nigerian Medical Association among others are engaged as strategic stakeholders by the government through their recognised association’s leadership then the creative industry deserves the same regard.”

The statement was jointly signed by:
1) AMP Ralph Nwadike
2) AGN Emeka Rollas
3) DGN Fred Amata
4) SWGN Yinka Ogun
5) ANCOP Daisy Madu-Chikwendu
6) MOPPAN Ahmad Sarari
7) CDGN Sele O. Sele
8) FVPMAN Emeka Aduah
9) ITPAN Yinka Oduniyi
10) MACDAN Izu Osuigwe
11) CEMP Peddie Okhao
12) AMPEEN Mensah Paul
13) NANTAP Israel Eboh
14) TAMPAN Bolaji Amusan
15) AMCOD Sola Awoleye
16) AVOA Ngozi Ogbonna
17) CSN
18) ANTP


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle