The old students of the Mass Communication department of The Polytechnic in Ibadan, Oyo state have unveiled plans to mark their 20th anniversary union.


The group, known as the Ascom Class of Presidents (Ascom CoP), 1998/2004 set, in a statement, said they will be inaugurating a solar-powered system for their department as part of activities marking the reunion.

Yekeen Akinwale, head of the anniversary’s media committee, quoted Tunde Muraina, chairman of the central working committee (CWC), as saying that the group will also extend a similar gesture to the Mass Communication department at The Ibarapa Polytechnic, Eruwa.

The Ibarapa Polytechnic used to be the satellite campus of The Polytechnic, Ibadan, where the alumni completed their national diploma (ND) programme.


The chairman also said the committee will organise a series of activities to celebrate their years of camaraderie and learning legacy.

He said different sub-committees have been inaugurated to drive the activities.

The chairman disclosed that the reunion would include health clinics, capacity-building sessions, business promotions, and a Thanksgiving event.


He added that there would be awards and recognitions for deserving members who have excelled in their careers, former lecturers, and deceased colleagues.

Muraina said the theme of the reunion is “Ascom Class of Presidents 20th Anniversary Reunion: Today, Tomorrow, Together”.

He said the association would use the reunion to implement various welfare programmes to support its members.

The timeline for the events began in March 2024 and is expected to conclude in August 2024 with a grand finale and the inauguration of a new executive team to steer the association forward.


Copyright 2024 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle