Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) has expelled four students over the violence which took place on June 13 after the students’ union election.


According to a statement signed by Jacob Agboola, registrar of the institution, the senate on Tuesday approved that those found guilty should be suspended or expelled from the university.

The statement read: “The Senate of the Ladoke Akintola University of Technology (LAUTECH) Ogbomoso, at an emergency meeting held on Tuesday, July 24, 2018 considered at length the report and recommendations of the panel set up to investigate the student crisis that erupted after the Student Union election held on Wednesday, June 13, 2018.”

The expelled students are Adeoti AbdulAfeez, Akinloye Oluwatimileyin, department of pure and applied physics; Eze Raymond, department of management and accounting; and Dauda Sodiq, department of chemical engineering.


Eight students involved in the violence were also placed on suspension.

The suspended students are Olalekan Ismail, Amoo Akeem, Azeez Ayobami, Oluwole, Bankole Oluwaseyi, Abioye Aderemi, Atoyebi Adeniran, and Adewale Sulaiman.


Copyright 2021 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle