Mr Macaroni, a comedian; Sam Adeyemi, a senior pastor of the Daystar Christian Centre; and Rema, Mavin Records singer, are among winners of The Future Awards Africa (TFAA) 2020.


TFAA had its first TV/digital edition, which doubles as the award’s fifth anniversary, on Saturday due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The annual event aired on Africa Magic, Pop Central, and MTV Base and featured appearances from Funke Akindele, an actress; Tara Fela-Durotoye, a beauty entrepreneur; and Wangi Mba-Uzoukwu, the channel director of M-Net West Africa.

Rema, whose real name is Divine Ikubor, won the TFAA ‘Prize for Music’ while Mr Macaroni snagged the plaque for ‘Content Creation’. In the same vein, Adeyemi was awarded the 2020 TFAA plaque for ‘Service to Young People’.


Others who emerged among this year’s winners are Aisha Salaudeen (journalism) and Jide-Kene Achufusi (acting).


See the full list of winners below:

  • Acting: Jide-Kene Achufusi
  • Arts: Kingsley Ayogu
  • Content creation: Debo ‘Mr. Macaroni’ Adedayo
  • Entrepreneurship: Akomolafe Henrich Bankole
  • Film: Dafe Oboro
  • Leading conversations: Damilola Odufuwa
  • Music: Divine ‘Rema’ Ikubor
  • Health and wellness: Chioma Nwosu
  • Disruption: Adegoke Olubusi, Tito Ovia, Dimeji Sofowora
  • Lawyers: Georgette Monnou
  • Governance: Seun Fakorede
  •  Intrapreneurship: Lehle Balde
  • Beauty: Doyinsola Afolabi
  • Journalism: Aisha Salaudeen
  • Literature: Toluwalase ‘Logan February’ Akinwale
  • Fashion: Daniel Obasi
  • Activism: Hassana Maina
  • Community action: Derick Omari (Ghana)
  • Young Person of the Year: Ogutu Okudo (Kenya)
  • Service to Young People – Dr. Sam Adeyemi

Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle