Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, a Nigerian novelist, has been awarded the Women’s Prize for Fiction ‘Winner of Winners’ title for ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’, her 2006 novel on the Nigerian Civil War.


The author was announced the winner on Thursday, making her the first and only person to win it in its 25-year history.

Chimamanda was chosen in a public vote from a list of all 25 winners including Zadie Smith, the late Andrea Levy, Lionel Shriver, Rose Tremain, and Maggie O’Farrell, amongst others novelists.

“I’m especially moved to be voted ‘Winner of Winners’ because this is the Prize that first brought a wide readership to my work – and has also introduced me to the work of many talented writers,” the novelist said.


The literary icon, 43, will be presented with a silver edition of the prize’s annual statuette known as the ‘Bessie’, which was originally created and donated by Grizel Niven, an artist, as part of the gift of an anonymous donor.

Her book, which won the Women’s Prize for Fiction (Orange Prize) in 2007, dwells on the end of colonialism, ethnic allegiances, class, race, and female empowerment as well as how love can complicate all of these things.

In a statement seen by TheCable Lifestyle, it was revealed that the author will talk about her writing and being chosen for the ‘Winner of Winners’ award in an event to be hosted by Kate Mosse, the prize’s founder, on December 6.


“Our aim has been to promote and celebrate the classics of tomorrow today and to build a library of exceptional, diverse, outstanding international fiction written by women,” Mose said.

“I am thrilled that ‘Half of a Yellow Sun’ has won the silver Winner of Winners. Congratulations to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and here’s to our next quarter-century!

“‘Reading Women’ campaign has been the perfect way to introduce a new generation of readers to the brilliance of all of our twenty-five winners and to honour the quality and range of women’s writing from all over the world.”

It is understood that over 8,500 persons who voted were invited to share their thoughts with the prize’s digital book club.


Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle