Shina Peller, Nigerian politician; Mala Buni, Yobe state governor; and Saheed Elegushi (Kusenla III), Lagos monarch, have been selected for honours at the 2020 NaijaHottestGist (NHG) Awards.


Seun Oloketuyi, the founder of the Best of Nollywood (BON) Awards, who doubles as the publisher of NHG, an online news agency, disclosed this in a statement on Monday.

He said the award event, which comes as NHG’s 2020 anniversary, will include a lecture while also rewarding individuals who have performed beyond expectations in their choice careers.

Seun Oloketuyi

The event is expected to hold on April 17, at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs (NIIA) in Lagos.


“Our commitment to ensuring that Nigeria continues to break barriers despite the multifaceted issues besieging us every day wouldn’t allow us to rest on our oars,” Oloketuyi said.

“And as we all know, the only way we can encourage selfless Nigerians, who contribute to the advancement of the country despite its many challenges, is so say thank you.

“As a media organization, what better way to celebrate ten years of professionalism than giving honour to whom it’s due.


“The NaijaHottestGist award recognizes individuals, policymakers, advocacy groups, and organizations whose efforts at the local and state levels establish performance as a core value.

“Our efforts at ensuring that NaijaHottestGist is one that provides equitable and professional reporting on events affecting the nation is unwavering.”

The event’s lecture, themed ‘Dwindling Oil Revenue: How to Run a State Post Oil Boom’, will be delivered by Michael Bamidele, a human rights activist and senator representing Ekiti central, while the keynote address will be given by Bimbo Ashiru, former commissioner for commerce and industry in Ogun.

The selected topic comes at a time when the oil price is crashing largely due to the global outbreak of the coronavirus in a manner that threatens the major source of revenue for Nigeria.


“The NHG awards for the Governor of the Year will go to the hard working governor of Yobe State, Hon. Mai Mala Buni. Other categories include Bank of the Year (United Bank for Africa), CEO of the Year (Anders Einasson, Promasidor), Government Agency of the Year (Nigerian Dispora Commission) and Tourism Destination of the Year (Transcorp),” the statement added.

“Others are Monarch of the Year (Oba Saheed Elegushi), Legislator of the Year (Hon. Shina Peller), Sports Event of the Year (The Lagos International Marathon), Heart of Gold Award (Aare Bashir Fakorede), Product of the Year (Alat by Wema Bank) and Special Recognition Award (Sir Kesington Adebukunola Adebutu, CON).”

Copyright 2023 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle