President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of four new universities specialised in technology and health in the country.


According to NAN, Buhari also approved a take-off grant of N4 billion each for the universities of technology and N5 billion each for the universities of health science from the funding resources of TETFund.

Sonny Echono, permanent secretary, federal ministry of education, broke the news during a briefing in Abuja on Monday.

According to him, the president approved two additional universities of technology in Jigawa and Akwa Ibom states.


The permanent secretary said the newly institutions are established to close the gap in the doctor-patient ratio as well as in medical research and production of pharmaceutical products.

He added that the president also okayed the establishment of National Institute of Technology (NIT) in Abuja and two specialised universities in health, nutrition and medical sciences to be located at Azare, Bauchi state and Ila Orangun, Osun state.

Echono further disclosed that Buhari has also approved the upgrading of the four existing universities of technology located in Yola, Akure, Owerri and Minna.


He added that the president’s directive also include that the existing universities of technology are equipped with the needed equipment for effective operation.

Copyright 2022 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle