Bai Kamara, a Sierra Leon-born singer, has reacted to his nomination for the 2020 Blues Blast Music Awards.


The nomination was announced on July 10, with the Belgium-based guitarist and songwriter nominated for his The Voodoo Sniffers ‘Salone’ in the ‘Best Acoustic Blues Album’ category.

He was nominated alongside Mark Telesca, Libby Watson, Bert Deivert, Catfish Keith, and Bob Margolin as the only one from outside of North America across all categories for the 2020 award.

“We are really excited to be nominated by this prestigious Blues Awards. We had favourable reviews across Europe when ‘Salone’ was released,” the singer told on Tuesday ahead of the September event.


“But we never thought it would cross the Atlantic (US). As the only non- American to be nominated in this category, it is a huge honour for my team and I.”

Recorded in collaboration with the German label Moosicus/MIG Music and Kamara’s management agency Zig Zag World, ‘Salone’ was dedicated to the artiste’s country of birth (Sierra Leone).

See the full list of nominees below:


Contemporary Blues Album

  • Victor Wainwright And The Train – Memphis Loud
  • Various Artists – Don’t Pass Me By, A Tribute To Sean Costello
  • Toronzo Cannon & The Chicago Way – The Preacher, The Politician Or The Pimp
  • The Jimmys – Gotta Have It
  • Rick Estrin & The Nightcats – Contemporary
  • Christone “Kingfish” Ingram – Kingfish

Traditional Blues Album

  • The Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling – Lucky Guy
  • Junior Watson – Nothin’ To It But To Do It
  • John Primer & Bob Corritore – The Gypsy Woman Told Me
  • Jimmy Johnson – Every Day Of Your Life
  • Cash Box Kings – Hail To The Kings!
  • Billy Branch & The Sons Of Blues – Roots And Branches – The Songs Of Little Walter

Soul Blues Album

  • Tad Robinson – Real Street
  • Reverend John Lee Hooker Jr. – Testify
  • Frank Bey – All My Dues Are Paid\
  • Bobby Rush – Sitting on Top of the Blues
  • Billy Price – Dog Eat Dog
  • Annika Chambers – Kiss My Sass

Rock Blues Album

  • Tinsley Ellis – Ice Cream In Hell
  • The Proven Ones – You Ain’t Done
  • Mike Zito and Friends – Rock N Roll – A Tribute To Chuck Berry
  • Jeremiah Johnson – Heavens To Betsy
  • Coco Montoya – Coming In Hot
  • Albert Castiglia – Masterpiece

Acoustic Blues Album

  • Mark Telesca – Higher Vibrations
  • Libby Rae Watson & Bert Deivert – SHE SHIMMY
  • Hudspeth & Taylor – Folie a deux
  • Catfish Keith – Catfish Crawl
  • Bob Margolin – This Guitar & Tonight
  • Bai Kamara Jr. & The Voodoo Sniffers – Salone

Live Blues Album

  • Teresa James & the Rhythm Tramps – Live
  • Ruthie Foster – Live at The Paramount
  • Linsey Alexander – Live At Rosa’s
  • Johnny Burgin – Live
  • Ben Racine Band – Live À Montréal
  • Albert Castiglia – Wild and Free

Historical Or Vintage Recording

  • Various Artists – Cadillac Baby’s Bea & Baby Records – The Definitive Collection
  • Johnny Shines – The Blues Came Falling Down – Live 1973
  • Jack Mack & The Heart Attack – Live from Centennial Park – Atlanta 1996
  • Dom Flemons – Prospect Hill: The American Songster Omnibus
  • 11 Guys Quartet – Small Blues and Grooves

New Artist Debut Album

  • Slim And The Perkolators
  • Sister Lucille – Alive
  • Jose Ramirez – Here I Come
  • Hudspeth & Taylor – Folie a deux
  • Avey Grouws Band – The Devil May Care
  • Andrew Alli – Hard Workin’ Man

Blues Band

  • Roomful Of Blues
  • Rick Estrin & The Nightcats
  • Nick Moss Band Featuring Dennis Gruenling
  • Cash Box Kings
  • Billy Branch & The Sons Of The Blues
  • B.B. King Blues Band

Male Blues Artist

  • Toronzo Cannon
  • Nick Moss
  • Christone “Kingfish” Ingram
  • Bobby Rush
  • Billy Branch
  • Albert Castiglia

Female Blues Artist

  • Whitney Shay
  • Shaun Murphy
  • Ruthie Foster
  • Liz Mandeville
  • Beth Hart
  • Annika Chambers
  • Sean Costello Rising Star Award
  • The Mary Jo Curry Band
  • Ryan Perry
  • King Solomon Hicks
  • Jose Ramirez
  • Ben Levin
  • Andrew Alli



Copyright 2021 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle