9mobile says it has shortlisted three finalists in its photography competition.


According to a statement by the company, the three shortlisted finalists are Amanda Ihemebiri for ‘The NestOil Tower’, Oluwaseun Otitoola for ‘Fragment of CMS Bookshop Building’ and Taiwo Omotosho for ‘Lines Side by Side’.

The telecoms company also said it has selected the winners of the voters’ choice category.

“For the voters choice category, Ikenna Ogbenta emerged winner for his image ‘Skies and Scrapers’, he had the highest number of votes online,”  said Elvis Ogiemwanye, director, brands and experience.


“The trio, Ihemebiri, Otitoola and Omotosho were selected from the list of ‘Top 100’ by a jury based on quality, creativity and relevance of their entries.

“The jury comprising Hakeem Saalam, Kola Oshalusi and Kunle Awolowo – who are all accomplished international photographers – will carry out a final review of the shortlisted images and thereafter announce the winner and the two runners-up.”

Prizes will be awarded to the winner, runners-up and voter’s choice winner on Friday, November 3.


“We are very excited by the volume of entries that were received this year. The 2017 9mobile Photography Competition was keenly contested, and this further affirms 9mobile’s leadership position in actively engaging our subscribers, especially the youth by enabling and encouraging them to express their talents.

“At 9mobile, we are totally committed to the growth of Nigeria’s creative industry by promoting talent development across arts, literature, science, sports and entertainment segments.

“We have and will continue to explore ways we can support talent mining to better position and empower our subscribers to give them the needed edge to succeed.

“We are glad that entries received for the 2017 edition of 9mobile Photography Competition are impressive both in terms of creativity, quality and relevance.


“The judges have done an excellent job in choosing the three finalists. I congratulate the Voters’ Choice winner, Ikenna Ogbenta, whose entry got the highest number of votes online.”

The competition began with a call for entries on August 7, which closed on September 11.

Copyright 2022 TheCable. All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from TheCable.

Follow us on twitter @Thecablestyle